Memorys of the Early Days in Motherhood

For a stay at home mom you would think I would have plenty of time to get everything done. It is totally not true. Sometimes I feel like I don’t have enough time to get everything done. Often I find much left behind.

More times then not the Boo will keep me distracted from the humdrum chores in life. Don’t get me wrong I love to have a distraction once in a while from chores. More and more I find myself having the challenge of trying to persuade her to do something on her own. The Boo is the type of kid that wants you to do everything with her. It doesn’t matter if it is something she has done a million times. She will ask you for help.

I love my Boo she is my life. I remember the day she was born. I was so exhausted and out of it from the medication they put me on. I had contracted preeclampsia towards the end of my pregnancy. They actually had to induce labor early. It was just a whirlwind of 28 hours before she was born.

I remember looking down at her beautiful little wide eyed face and thinking how amazing it was to meet this little person who was growing in me for 8 months. It was nothing like the movies. I remember watching and I know this is not a very good comparison Look Who’s Talking. I remember wondering what it would be like to meet the little one. It certainly wasn’t a moment full of tears like Hollywood likes to portrait.

Everyone who could squeeze into the room at the time kept telling me say something to her. Let her hear your voice. I do faintly recall being annoyed by this I was trying to adjust to the alien feeling of finally having my baby in my arms.

She was a stinker in the womb. At least that is what the nurses kept telling me. They used to say it all the time when they tried to get a fetal monitor hooked up. She just wouldn’t stay still. Out of the womb to the this day she is still a stinker once in a while. I remember when she was only a couple weeks old she just wouldn’t behave for tummy time. I remember how stubborn and willful she was and still is. Even at only a couple days old she let everyone know what she thought and then some.

I love mommy hood and all the little things that get thrown in with it. I realize some days I am not perfect and I have many things to improve on as a mommy. The Boo is the greatest love of my life.

If mommy hood could be considered a job I would say it is one hell of a job. I truly think it is a job of itself. Twenty- four hours and seven days a week is the job of a mommy. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Not even the moments when I get pooped or peed on or thrown up on. I wouldn’t change a thing.

I look forward to many years of new adventures with my lovely Boo.

About nrhartwig85

I am a stay at home mom looking for enriching ways to help my daughter grow. My daughter is my light in life. I love reading, crafting, cooking and being a mommy.

2 responses to “Memorys of the Early Days in Motherhood

  1. I would have been annoyed like you were!

    Precious early days. Yes, it was an alien feeling wasn’t it – so alien, having your baby in your arms and all that that meant.

    • Yes thank you for understanding 🙂 They really are precious. I didn’t really fully understand the whole motherhood aspect until she was here. There is a lot of things that other parents or even our own parents don’t give warning about. It is pretty much a learn as you go type of thing. Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

