Cooking is a Leisure

So last time I talked about trying out those oatmeal cookies and it was a no go. I didn’t like them. But to each their own I am sure someone else might like them.

The Boo and I have been keeping busy with house chores and activities that she wants to do. I decided to make her some homemade playdough. It is a pretty pink color with purple glitter in it. This activity brought back memories of when I was a kid and my grandma made us playdough. I used to love it so much.

Image

This picture doesn’t do it justice but it is very pretty. It was very easy to make. I would like to share with everyone how to make it.

The recipe I used called for: 1 cup flour

                                                  1 cup water

                                                  1/3 cup salt

                                                  2 tsp cream of tartar

                                                  1 Tbsp oil

                                                  food coloring

                                                  glitter

Mix all of the ingredients in a 2 quart saucepan on low to medium heat. I had to keep watch over it because it cooked fairly quickly. You will want keep stirring until the dough starts to stick to the spoon. At this point I needed to remove the dough and place it on a piece of wax paper to cool.

The Boo loves to play with playdough. This is just an inexpensive way to entertain her and to keep playdough around for her to play with. It will make a pretty big batch. Compared to the playdough brand you buy in the store it is a couple containers worth.

Switching topics I always have a hard time finding good things for the Boo to eat. I found a family recipe that she loves to eat and is healthy. It is Puerto Rican kidney beans and rice. The Boos daddy is half Puerto Rican so I got this recipe from his family.

Image

It is absolutely delicious and so simple to make.

Here is how to make the rice: 3 cups of rice

                                                     6 cups of water

                                                     1 Tbsp of garlic powder

                                                     1 tsp of salt

                                                     1 Tbsp of olive oil

I add the water, garlic powder, salt and olive oil in a pan. I set the heat on high and wait for it to boil. Once the water is boiling I add the 3 cups of rice and cover with a lid. I put the heat on low and let it simmer until the rice is cooked and all the water has been cooked out of it. It usually takes about 20 min to cook.

I then work on the kidney bean sauce. Which takes several ingredients and one of them I make right at home in the blender. It is called soffrito.

To make soffrito you will need: 1 green bell pepper

                                                       2 garlic cloves

                                                       a couple of sprigs of cilantro

                                                       2 or 3 little chebulito onions

I blend all the ingredients in a blender and then freeze it for later. It makes a decent amount of soffrito. I like to freeze it in ice cubes then place the cubes in a freezer bag. They are all poured at one tablespoon each. I liked to do it that way so all you have to do is throw it in and let it cook with everything else. It is all premeasured and ready to go.

The kidney bean sauce will call for: 1 16 ounce can of kidney beans

                                                               1 8 ounce can of tomato sauce

                                                               adobo seasoning (to taste)

                                                               a packet of sazon seasoning

                                                               1 Tbsp of soffrito

                                                               1Tbsp of green olives and pimentos

                                                               1 tsp of capers

                                                               garlic powder (to taste)

                                                               1 potato

I like to cut the potato up in quarters then drop them in the saucepan with a cup of water. I then add all the other ingredients in the saucepan and cook over medium heat. I cook the sauce until the potatoes are tender and then you are done. The Boo loves this dish and usually will eat the whole thing up. You can serve it with any meat but I like to make it with chicken. 

Lately I have been trying more and more to get away from the whole fast food scene. It isn’t healthy to eat all those greasy foods. I find it is a lot better homemade anyways if done right.

Well that is it for tonight hope you enjoy todays blog. 🙂 Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day.                                            

 

 

About nrhartwig85

I am a stay at home mom looking for enriching ways to help my daughter grow. My daughter is my light in life. I love reading, crafting, cooking and being a mommy.

Leave a Reply

