All that Glitters

Hey everyone, today was an excellent day with the warm weather and sun shine. It was even better when the Boos dad got off early from work. It is always nice when that happens.

Lately the Boo has been hitting the terrible twos pretty hard. I was looking for ways to calm her down when she is at the highest point of her tantrums. It seems like when she goes into them she just keeps going on forever. Which of course is not true but just seems like it especially when all you hear is crying.

So I found this lovely little idea called a calming jar. Ideally it is supposed to calm the child down during time out. I have yet to try it but they say to sit the child down and let them watch the glitter fall. Once the glitter is all fallen the time out is done. At which point your child is supposed to have been neutralized into a better mood.

It will be interesting for me to see if this works. I will have plenty of opportunities to try it. I will let everyone know how it goes.

So here is how you make them:

                                                            glitter glue

                                                            extra glitter and sequence if desired

                                                            hot water

                                                            mason jar or plastic bottle

                                                            food coloring (optional)

                                                            super glue

First I decided on a mason jar to make my calming jar with. I then used two little tubes of glitter glue and mixed it in with the hot water. They say one Tablespoon per every cup of hot water. I found that I had to do a little variation with mine. I then added extra glitter until I was satisfied with how it looked when shaken. I also added some food coloring to make it a little more interesting. I then sealed the jar with super glue to make sure that the little one couldn’t open it. I applied a cute little band of ribbon around the lid. I thought the ribbon really gave it a nice accent with the color in the jar.

And here is the final master piece….. 🙂

20130926_224910

Isn’t it so pretty. I think the Boo is really going to like it. I just made it and she is out for the night. It will be a very pleasant surprise for her in the morning. 🙂

Hope everyone enjoys this idea and maybe gives it a try. I know I am going to try it. Happy Blogging and thank you for reading.

About nrhartwig85

I am a stay at home mom looking for enriching ways to help my daughter grow. My daughter is my light in life. I love reading, crafting, cooking and being a mommy.

2 responses to “All that Glitters

  1. How cool! I think I’m going to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

